TENANT RIGHTS ATTORNEY
JACKSONVILLE TENANT RIGHTS ATTORNEY WORKING FOR YOU
- · Security deposit theft
- · Unlawful fees and excessive charges
- · Harassing rent collection practices
- · Unlawful eviction
- · Failure to maintain the property
- · Ignoring requests to fix and repair
- · Lease violations
- · Rent increases
- · Negligence issues
- · Slip and fall
- · Discrimination
- · Hidden fees and charges
- · Sending unpaid rental debt to debt collectors
SECURITY DEPOSIT THEFT
RETURNING A TENANT'S SECURITY DEPOSIT IN FLORIDA
- Landlords must return the security deposit within 15 days of lease termination. If a claim is being imposed on the security deposit the landlord has 30 days from the termination of the lease to notify the tenant in writing of their intention to keep a portion of the tenant's security deposit. If the landlord fails to notify the tenant in writing within 30 days, the landlord forfeits the right to keep any portion of the security deposit.
- The written notice must:
- 1. Be sent by certified mail to the address on file for the tenant.
- 2. State the intention to keep a portion or all of the security deposit and list the reasons why.
- 3. Inform the tenant they have 15 days from receipt of this letter to contest it, but they must contest it in writing.
- Florida law suggests the landlord using a statement similar to this one:
- This is a notice of my intention to impose a claim for damages in the amount of ___ upon your security deposit, due to___ . It is sent to you as required by s. 83.49(3), Florida Statutes. You are hereby notified that you must object in writing to this deduction from your security deposit within 15 days from the time you receive this notice, or I will be authorized to deduct my claim from your security deposit. Your objection must be sent to (landlord’s address).
- The landlord forfeits its rights to impose a claim on the security deposit if they don’t send a certified letter within 30 days of lease termination. If you don’t receive your security deposit or a certified letter from your landlord within 30 days of termination of the lease, you may have a claim against your landlord. You don’t pay unless we win your security deposit claim.